About Us

The East Texas Emergency Nurses Association (ETENA) is a sanctioned Chapter of the Emergency Nurses Association (Chapter 296).  It is comprised of emergency nurses and emergency nursing advocates located in a 26 county region covering the top eastern corner of the state including Texarkana, Mt. Pleasant, Paris, Tyler, Longview, Lufkin, and Nacogdoches.
Our membership includes men and women with amazing experience, education, and expertise including

    • 55 – CEN
    • 2 –LVN
    • 11– MSN
    • 1 – Certified Flight Registered Nurse
    • 2 –Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner
    • 1 –Advanced Trauma Care for Nurses
    • 1 –Masters of Public Health
    • 1 –Fellow of Academy of Emergency Nursing
    • 1– Masters in Education
    • 1 –Certified Transport Registered Nurse
    • 1 –Certified Pediatric Nurse
    • 1 –Certification in critical care nursing
    • 2 –National Registry Emergency Medical Technician – Paramedic
    • 1 –Certified Legal Nurse Consultant

Incoming 2021 Board of Directors and Leadership Team

Congratulations to our new 2021 members. Click here to view the team.

2020 Board of Directors and Leadership Team

Lee Walker, RN BSN CEN


Lee is from Lindale, TX and is an Emergency Nurse at Christus Trinity Mother Francis in Tyler. After 16 years of working in the IT field, he graduated from UT Tyler in 2013 with his BSN. He started his nursing career 5 years ago at Baylor University Medical Center Dallas ED. He likes to travel and go camping with his wife and 2 pre-teen boys. His vision for our ENA chapter is for us to gather together for fellowship, learning and to share knowledge to take back to our respective emergency departments to create a safer environment for all patients and nurses across the region. 

Karyn Smith, RN BSN


Karyn is Stroke/Chest Pain Coordinator at Woodland Heights Medical Center in Lufkin.  She is from Gary, TX. She started her career as an LVN at Panola College and worked at Nacogdoches Memorial Hospital. She obtained RN and BSN at Mesa State College in Grand Junction, CO, working and living there for 5 years. She returned here and worked at Nac Medical Center ICU for a year, then worked hospice and went back to the ER for the next 4 years primarily as a travel nurse, but with home base in Carthage and Longview.  This year she has taken a position as a Stroke/Chest Pain Coordinator where she works closely with EMS,ER, ICU, Cath Lab and the floor, in all aspects of care. 

Katheryn Courville, RN PhD CEN

Past-President and Secretary

Katheryn is an Assistant Professor at the University of Texas at Tyler (Longview Campus).  She teaches in the undergraduate nursing program and in the graduate nursing education program.  She worked as an emergency nurse at Good Shepherd Medical Center.  She is currently the Past-President, was President in 2018 and Secretary in 2005.  She is on the Public Education and Clinical Education Committee of the Texas Trauma Regional Advisory Committee and her passion in the last year has been teaching Stop the Bleed and teaching nurses to teach Stop the Bleed.  She would like to continue on the mission to get East Texas trained in this life-saving skill.

Bonnie Avonrude, RN


Bonnie works at Christus Trinity Mother Francis in Tyler. She has been an emergency nurse for many years and has been active in ETENA and Texas ENA including serving a secretary and currently as treasurer. She is in Pittsburgh PA at the National ENA Conference right now serving as a voting delegate. ENA has important issues impacting emergency nurses and she plans to bring home new and creative ideas to bring more education and activities for our chapter members.

Tim Hernandez, RN BSN


Tim is currently a Board Director.  He is from Nederland, Texas and currently resides in Nacogdoches, Texas. He is employed full time as a Clinical Nurse II in the Emergency Department at CHI St. Luke’s Health Memorial in Lufkin, Texas. He has worked at CHI St. Luke’s Health since 2012 first as an ER Tech and Unit Clerk while attending Nursing School at Stephen F. Austin State University. Tim began his nursing career after graduating in December of 2017 from SFASU and has been full-time in the Emergency Department since then. Prior to nursing he worked in several hospitals and EMS services in various positions. He also served in the U.S. Army on active duty and has deployments to Iraq as a Combat Medic with Armored and Infantry units. He enjoys travelling, live music, and spending time with his family and Pearl, his lab puppy. He looks forward to representing the southern region, furthering STOP THE BLEED training locally, and would love to meet and collaborate with fellow members.

Sheila Evans, RN TCRN

Sheila lives in Paris, Texas.  She is Co-Founder of Education4Nurses, a certification company.  Sheila is an army veteran from the 44th Medical Brigade, and served a tour in the Desert Storm conflict.  She has over 20 years of experience in ER, ICU, and Flight Nursing. She is an AHA instructor for BLS, PALS, and ACLS. She is a member of the ENA and has faculty instructor status to teach ENPC, TNCC, and instructor courses.  Sheila is also a certified instructor for the Crisis Prevention Institute.  She recently held the position as a clinical educator at Paris Regional Medical Center. She has a passion for precepting and mentoring new nursing staff and is an enthusiastic and entertaining instructor. She plans to take an ER nursing job locally in Paris to be closer to her newest grandbaby.

Stefani Ross, RN BSN


Stefanie recently moved from the Metro Atlanta area to Lufkin, TX. In Atlanta she worked for Kennestone emergency department and for Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta. Prior to moving to Atlanta she worked for West Houston Medical Center after obtaining her BSN from University of Houston Victoria accelerated nursing program.  She has been a member of ETENA for a year and was an active member in her former chapter.  Teaching Stop the Bleed has motivated her to help Deep East Texas emergency nurses become more involved with the ENA.  She is currently the office manager for the Deep East Texas Regional Advisory Council (DETRAC).